In the Archive XVII – Double exposure V

nc3a3o-acreditamos-nunca-tile

“Who, if I cried out, would hear me among the angels’
hierarchies? and even if one of them
pressed me against his heart: I would be consumed
in that overwhelming existence. For beauty is nothing
but the beginning of terror, which we still are just able to endure,
and we are so awed because it serenely disdains
to annihilate us. Every angel is terrifying.”

(Rainer Maria Rilke, Duino Elegies)

-from the series Não acreditamos nunca que se trate de espelhos I, II, III, IV, 1999, analogue, film tmax 400, gelatin silver print –

25 thoughts on “In the Archive XVII – Double exposure V

  1. I like your «analog years of darkrooms» a lot. I’m not sure if «analog» was better than «digital» or vice-versa; probably just different, but without the digital part (anyway, once scanned, everything becomes digital, no?) I would’ve never heard of you. And now, well, you know it, I’m appreciative of your offerings . So, that digital age permits me to savor glimpses of your past «analog» art; that’s all good to me. There’s an indescribable force to your work or… I say force, but it could as well be fragility. I like when something is not nameable; mystery; I find unnameable states in your art. That’s all good to me. Oh! have I written that twice? I don’t care; that’s all good to me. See? Never two without three.

    • Thank you so much, Ben!!

      Analogue and digital are different ways to feel the world, I guess… the time, the atmosphere, the hands, the smells, all together work in different ways, but it all feel like forms of communication, right?…different mediums sometimes lead you to new discoveries…
      Thank you for what you see in my images…is it you, or is it me?… we will never know… and I like that, a lot…

      Até breve, querido Ben – e bom fim de semana!!… (…je sourire pour vous…)

      • clas·sic
        ˈklasik/
        adjective
        adjective: classic

        1. judged over a period of time to be of the highest quality and outstanding of its kind.

        noun
        noun: classic; plural noun: classics; plural noun: Classics; noun: Classic

        1. a work of art of recognized and established value.

        Oh my yes…tis’ you.

Leave a Reply

