In the Archive VII – The night evolves me, like a photo detached from the frame

combine polaroid vestido negroREDUX

“Last night I wept. I wept because the process by which I have become woman was painful. I wept because I was no longer a child with a child’s blind faith. I wept because my eyes were opened to reality….I wept because I could not believe anymore and I love to believe. I can still love passionately without believing. That means I love humanly. I wept because I have lost my pain and I am not yet accustomed to its absence.”

(Anaïs Nin, A Journal of Love – The Unexpurgated Diary)

– from the Project Polaroids and Table-books, 2001, analogue, Polaroids –

6 thoughts on “In the Archive VII – The night evolves me, like a photo detached from the frame

  1. Yes, I agree with Lisa, the red really lifts the shot, really brings it alive. And I very much like the concept of a photo detached from the frame – not simply being taken out of its frame, but becoming detached from it, and also animated, and moving around within (and also maybe outside of) the frame, as in your photos here, Kari. The photo assuming an animate life of its own, irrespective of the inanimate frame. Adrian

    • Adrian, what a wonderful and kind comment you gave me… I thank you so much for that!!
      And again, a lovely weekend!! (…smiling even more than before…)

  2. Lovely series Kari-the images have an ethereal quality and the red lips as Adrian points out makes it a very earthly portrait as well-I hope that made sense-great work! Fascinating to see where you have come from this point!

    • Meg, it makes a lot of sense… I am glad that you continue to see my images. Thank you so very much!!
      And I hope you have a wonderful weekend!! (…smiling…)

Leave a Reply

