In the Archive – Nudas Veritas

I start to rediscover my own archives, my analogue photos. Like Anaïs Nin put it “We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect”, and that is how I feel when I see them – I taste it all, again…
So I hope you will enjoy them too. And thank you so much for being there, and to share your thoughts with me. (…smiling…)

nudasREDUX

“There is no looking-glass here and I don’t know what I am like now. I remember watching myself brush my hair and how my eyes looked back at me. The girl I saw was myself and yet not quite myself. Long ago when I was a child and very lonely I tried to kiss her. But the glass was between ushard, cold and misted over with my breath. Now they have taken everything away. What am I doing in this place and who am I? “

(Jean Rhys, Wide Sargasso Sea)

-from the series Nudas Veritas, 2002, analogue, chromogenic print-

42 thoughts on “In the Archive – Nudas Veritas

  1. My dear Kari,
    I know exactly what you mean.I Hand this experience a few weeks back and I had nearly the same feelings. I came to the conclusion I have done nothing wrong with my life in my past ,but I feel much better,wiser and happier today. I am glad to be in the very now and not anymore in the past.

  2. So beautiful. Very touching…
    And the text from Jean Rhys (a very, very strong text) goes perfect with this self portrait.
    I look forward to see more from your archive, my friend.

    And – enjoy your Easter. 🙂

    • My dear, Malin – thank you so very much!!
      I am doing scans of the analogue archives, so now I am prepared to show it. At first it was not my intention, but now seeing them, it makes a lot of sense, it completes a certain circle… (…smiling…)

  3. Beautiful picture. Beautiful text. Beautiful idea to dig in your archive a bit. I do that also, these days. I don’t think it’s about nostalgia either – present is the time of times – but the past can be rich in many ways nevertheless. And that fire color is very beautiful on you, I must say.

    Ben (…sunny smile…)

  4. Thank you, thank you dear Ben!! …my face have changed…and I do like to see where is taking me… i think is a funny – inside, outside feelings… (…smiling and smiling…)
    …and thank you for the fire… hahaha…

  5. In rediscovery, I eulogize, not for the sake of remembering but to re-experience that moment when I met you. How you felt when I saw you looking back at me, it was akin to privilege, even being considered by someone so lovely.

    The mirror watched us with envy. I told you things I was thinking, but they were wrong. The projection of someone upon another is often wrong. Wrong from all angles of repose.

    As you brushed your hair and looked away, I wanted to tell you how beautiful you were, but that is the secret. You don’t see me. “Long ago when I was a child…”

    I was not the moisture either forming between you and the glass. They have taken me away from the truth. I am no longer here. I am invisible.

      • Yes, but we have our inner lives. I feel the self is overrated. As a photographer, don’t you feel that the photographs are of a sufficient distance to allow you to appreciate the art we can create with a medium that is both realistic and distanced? Aren’t you more interested in what the muse is bringing us and being prepared to receive it? I don’t want to tell my story. I want to tell the story that I am perceiving, juggling the words, so in our instance, you might see what you’ve stated in a different way. I am trying to get your attention. I am bored. I want a dialog. I want to be happy, not self-conscious.

      • Art offer us many possibilities… you just have to understand what is your journey, to listen to it… I discover mine some time ago, it is not the right one, it is just my own. I am not bored,Mario, so something in that journey of mine, is well done, I guess…

      • Yes, art offers many possibilities. I understand my journey in art, it’s the real world of work that restricts my expressiveness. In art, I am made free. Yes, art offers many possibilities. I understand my journey in art, it’s the real world of work that restricts my expressiveness. In art, I am made free. It wasn’t a boredom that is general, but specific to a moment. I wanted to try the kind of stabbing conversation I have engaged with you that seems incessant, testing, tedious, in an effort to go deeper, but like any conversation with a stranger out of the blue, like you said, you are not bored, and why would engagement be mutual under such circumstances?

  6. I adore images shot in bathrooms, be it figurative, portraiture, interiors, interior details, accessories….you are very good at capturing this subject matter…it could become a genre )))) smiling (at the reflection))))))

    • Alan – I love bathrooms too, they are a time for transformation and meditation…and the mirrors!!…
      …yes, a new blog with mirrors in bathrooms…hahaha…
      (…and myself with 12 years less, smiles at you…)

    • Oh, Agnes!… – I have to say, personally is one of my favorites too… I am very glad that it speaks to you. Thank you so very much!!
      Warm regards, my dear!!

Leave a Reply

