That fur coat

combine winter fur and trees cinemaREDUX

“When I was old enough to realize
wiped the dust from my mother’s eyes
It’s all this for that rabbit fur coat

But I’m not bitter about it
I’ve packed up my things and let them have at it
And the fortune faded, as fortunes often do
And so did that mansion house…

Where my ma is now, I don’t know
She was living in her car, I was living on the road…

(…)

And still wearing that rabbit fur coat”

(Jenny Lewis, Rabbit fur coat)

22 thoughts on “That fur coat

  1. objects…. impulse for our memories .
    “We are all instruments endowed with feeling and memory”
    is the heartbreaking story…
    Your face …I lack words
    thank you for these images!

  2. Hi Kari, I look at your images and am reminded of the Francesca Woodman photographs, which use the often blurred images of a woman in interior situations, often with another woman who is ‘sharp’. You have a very distinctive (dare I say beautiful) presence and a contrasting combination of the figure with static object/place would be very interesting to explore.
    http://blog.littlepaperplanes.com/francesca-woodman/

    There is also photograph from 1926 by Edward Weston I like very much in its contrast of human and man-made background, the female figure is very strong and a remarkable ‘shape’.
    http://www.danzigergallery.com/exhibition/westonand39s-westons/2

    Tim

    • Thank you so much for your very kind words about my images, Tim!! It means a lot to know that you can see them and feel it, that it takes you somewhere… (…smiling…)

      Thank you for the links that you send me, i will explore that a bit later…

Leave a Reply

