…never…

combine winter corREDUX

“Life has an inside as well as an outside. Consumer culture directs all resources and attention to life on the outside. What happens to the inner life? Art is never a luxury because it stimulates and responds to the inner life. We are badly out of balance.
I don’t think of art / creativity as a substitute for anything else. I see it as a powerful expression of our humanity – and on the side of humanity under threat.
If we say art is a luxury, we might as well say that being human is a luxury.”

(Jeanette Winterson, Art is never a luxury)

36 thoughts on “…never…

  1. Very well conceived with the perfect quote from JW. She was the recent subject of a TV documentary and she came across as a very warm and funny person – this despite (or perhaps because of) her strange upbringing.

  2. Now… this is just so WOW. Beautiful self portraits Kari. And the text from Jeanette Wintersom, I agree! Totally!

  3. What I can only brush stroke with words, you paint in wonderful worlds of photography, art of the eye. You are much more than a beautiful woman, Kari; you are a beautiful artist. I wish I had your eye…

  4. Well Said and very well understood. I Agreement with you Art is a essential part of our humanity and history.

  5. wonder,do will come back time – that art will not had to explain.The artist should not have to explain his arts.
    The world is based largely on excess, overproduction. Experience of sensory it loses increasingly value.
    I used to art was something rare, today is ubiquitous, but chance to experience her have so a little people.
    We focus more to consume.
    Your photos…You …
    Your art discovered deep things , very beautiful face of world.
    You have very beautiful soul, Kari.
    warm smile at you!

  6. …you are so true, dear Agnieszka!! …and I see it all the time, how we forgotten little pleasures, how the images are full of vulgarity, and with no meaning, how people are getting handicapped in touching, feeling and letting their selfs go… how they are incapable to be moved…
    … still, you have to choose, go with the crowed or don´t… and that is still a choice…but we choose our own path… long ago, I know I have chosen the difficult way… (…smiling at you)…and you too!!…

    Thank you so much for understanding and to support me in my feelings, thoughts, emotions, impressions… (…a very warm smile for you too…)

    • This is a very beautiful way, my dear!
      maybe to some truths have access only the “insiders” – with a specific sensitivity.
      We are looking for what authentic.
      we want take off the mask, move away from appearances, art deepens uczuciowowść.
      This is my way!
      beautiful afternoon for you!

  7. I don’t know if you’ve read Jeanette Winterson’s – Why Be happy When You Could Be Normal? – it’s one of the finest memoirs I’ve read. Fine self portraits as ever, makes you look very vulnerable.

    • Oh, Tim, that book is absolutely on my list to read – thank you!…
      And thank you again for liking my self-portraits…in this I was trying to take out all the layers… yes, you became very exposed and fragile… (…smiling…)

      • I found this photograph a which I found rather disturbing and tells a lot about exposure, fragility and I am sorry to say it men!

      • …it is very sad image, it transform the body in raw meat..it is disturbing, yes…
        Thank you Tim for sharing it!!

  8. There are no real words for this; but light shoots through my veins at the composition of word and image. Every concise movement of the shutter belongs to your soul and your aura. These images are beautiful in every way possible; a true masterpiece of warmth.

    • …Jack…I have no words for you… Thank you, Thank you…I am glad that my images speaks to you in that way…so glad…(…smiling and smiling…)

      (…and I have the shutter in my right hand…)

Leave a Reply

